Minor Editorial Notes

Hi all,

Now that we’re up to almost 20,000 page views (not bad for a couple of months), I’m considering a few changes and would like to ask for your input.

I’m thinking of unpinning the top post and letting it sink down to the date when it was posted. A lot of people have commented on the post and at the least I should give you fair warning. Opinions?

My current strap line is ‘Come and get it’ under the blog title. I am wondering if I should change it, and to what.

I’m not entirely satisfied with the arrangement of the right-hand menu bar. Suggestions? Also, does anyone have a weblog they would particularly like to see added to the blogroll here?

Other comments on appearance and usability would be welcome in this post.

Thanks for your support. I didn’t really expect to get off to such a flying start, and some of the cosmetic aspects of this publication probably reflect that.

13 responses to “Minor Editorial Notes

  1. Personally, I’d like to see the ‘recent comments’ under the ‘recent posts’. As a (mostly) lurker, I find that I will read the posts but will usually skip comments (who has time for everything?) unless a recognizable name catches my eye. A more prominent position would help with that.

    As for your strap line, it’s okay with me, but his magnificence the indefatigable William Connolley might prefer Revelation 3:16 –

    “… because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth”.

  2. For the benefit of new visitors to this site, dropping the Not Uncertain post down should be helpful.

    For a number of times, when I saw the top post had not changed, I assumed you had not posted anything new.

  3. I agree that the ‘come and get it’ strap line is not great. It sounds like a cheap cafe. Something more along the lines ‘All the extremists think we are wrong, so we must be getting something right’ may be more attractive.

  4. Hi Tom,
    (snark) – How is this for a strap line:
    Lukewarmers believe that CO2, the miraculous molecule responsible for all life, is Bad, but not to Bad.

  5. What do you think of my choice above?

Leave a Reply

