Take a lap

boston_marathon__1334090194_5396

On July 7, 2005 I was traveling by tube from my home in Kensington to my work in downtown London. Two trains ahead of ours, a bomb went off. Everybody got out of the trains, walked to a station and up the stairs to sunlight.

Fifty-two people were killed that day in four separate bombing attacks. And although London mourned their loss, they gave a collective two fingers to those who had perpetrated the attacks and went on about their business.

Although they stopped the Metro, people walked to work–not home. And at the end of the day they walked home. And the next day they walked to work.

I can’t do a marathon–too old. But I’m going for a jog for Beantown.

10 responses to “Take a lap

  1. I’m running the London Marathon on Sunday and no doubt we’ll find a way of paying our respects to the Boston victims.

  2. Run well, Andrew.

  3. Tom,
    Great post. We are all from Boston since yesterday.
    Your proximity to the London terror attacks gives you a perspective on these sort of experiences that is very thought provoking.
    This combination of personal power, brutality and lashing out at innocents is something all people of good will can hope soon passes.
    My son offered an interesting point yesterday: In reality, the rate of large scale violence has been going down for a number of years, in terms of casualties and frequency. Now I have not researched this to verify it, but my son is generally pretty careful about asserting things.
    If true, his point gives me hope that one reason so many of us find this sort of attack so upsetting is that in reality they are becoming rarer.
    If I was not recovering from some light knee surgery, I think I would make a point of going to a large popular jogging trail and running.
    We are all from Boston today.

    • There is an organization that monitors conflict numbers, intensity and casualties worldwide. Wish I could remember its name. Last time I saw something from them, they supported your son’s POV. Fewer conflicts, less intense, fewer number of casualties.

      Hope somebody records the next playing of the national anthem at a Boston venue.

      • Tom –

        Perhaps one of these two?

        http://www.genevadeclaration.org/ or http://www.hsrgroup.org/

        Hunter –

        I follow this stuff even more obsessively than I do the climate wars, and I’d have to say that your son is correct. This kind of thing is so devastating to us in very large part because we have been so successful at keeping it at bay – at least here at home.

      • Hi kch. Thanks for these–could have been either or (more likely) both that I’ve seen. But I must say I don’t recognize the names. But these are hugely useful, so–thanks!

  4. This morning while having my car serviced, I was forced to sit outside in the lovely spring weather (not) to read because the waiting lounge was given over to coverage of the bombing.

    I can’t stand FOX. Not because of slant and rant, every news channel has that, but because the commentators talk over each other incessantly, even when they have nothing to say which they rarely do.

    I have to think, and I have a bit of experience to back me up, that much of what we see from 9/11 to Newton is narcissism, not ideology.

    The way to reduce narcissism is to quit feeding it with attention. I wish FOX would simply report, “A bomb exploded at the Boston Marathon, 3 killed, many hurt…. and on Wall Street, the price of gold dropped……”

  5. Good luck, Andrew, at the marathon. Tom, I can’t imagine what it must have been like to be that close to an attack like that. Of course, I can’t imagine the type of thought process that concludes bombings like this serve any purpose. Angry cowards.

    • There was a radio DJ at the time–Johnny something or other. They had a promotion going at the time with TV ads, newspapers, etc. And it was a cheap little song with him singing, “Maybe it’s because I’m a Londoner, that I choose Capital”, Capital being the name of the radio station.

      The only sign of emotion I saw during the entire few days when this consumed the city was when I got out of the Tube that morning. One of my fellow train riders looked right, then left, then he just stopped, figuring out what he was going to do next. And he started whistling that tune. And his face turned beet red. And then he just walked off.

Leave a Reply

