Another One Bites The Dust–And an Ecomodernist Manifesto

Keith Kloor has announced he is abandoning Collide-a-Scape for more fruitful pursuits. I’m going to miss him. I was a faithful reader for two years and a frequent commenter as well. I hope he saves the archives some place. Lots of quotes to be mined and somebody’s dissertation some day in the future will be greatly enriched by his posts and commentary.

Not to keep harping on the subject, but the climate blogosphere seems to be thinning out. Pielke Jr.–gone. Planet 3–gone. Collide-a-Scape–gone. The Way Things Break–gone. Deltoid–gone.

Lots of other bloggers have certainly slowed down production–The Air Vent, The Blackboard–even Real Climate seems to be slowing down.

Of course it’s the commenters’ fault. (Just kidding…).

the-new-imperialism-64-638

I actually don’t know if this is a good or bad thing. A week in which I read for the first time ‘An Ecomdernist Manifesto‘ is definitely a week that shows that good and original thinking about environmental issues has not gone away. And there are new blogs, such as Jose Duarte, Climate Nuremberg and And Then There’s a Phsyique (sp?. It’s not like climate talk has disappeared.

But it seems as though there’s a changing of the guard, both among bloggers and commenters. I suppose that’s inevitable, natural, sign of vitality, something… But I’m going to miss Keith’s blog.

An Ecomodernist Manifesto is a remarkable document. It captures much of what I think and feel about the environmental struggle. It is an advance on earlier writings that I really like–Lomborg, Hartwell, The Rational Optimist.

The org has their website here. They’ve got some heavy hitters from the Breakthrough Institute, that no doubt being the reason Joe Romm went all hysterical. Can’t have sane people getting press! As further proof that irony is dead, Joe Romm declares somebody else’s writing to be a waste of time. After agreeing with much of what they say, Romm dismisses them because they don’t get on board with his preferred policies, notably cessation of new fossil fuel infrastructure by 2017. Geez, Romm–when you come back with India’s and China’s signature on that, let’s talk. In the meantime, hope you’re saving your pennies–You’re going to owe me and Les Johnson $1,000 in just five more years.

Echoing Romm is And Then There’s Physics, who after offering tepid support for the Manifesto’s goals, just has to get the alarmist dig in: “I’m still a little cynical and have a suspicion that this is a manifesto that acknowledges the problems we might face, but that is still really just proposing that we don’t do anything specifically to address them; we simply rely on our inate (sic) ingenuity to find solutions that will be ready when we need them.” The comments there are illuminating, if a bit disgusting. Lowlight: “…the most insidious and subtle exercise in corporate propaganda I have yet encountered. ”

I think it’s brilliant and I hope it serves as a base for further discussions about all aspects of the environment, including climate change.

Enough from me. Go read the Ecomodernist Manifesto. Report back on what it makes you think, feel and prepared to do.

5 responses to “Another One Bites The Dust–And an Ecomodernist Manifesto

  1. I’ve given up on the blogs. The one I agree with most scientifically is Tallbloke; but I find his politics odious, so I stopped reading it. I look at Spncer and Curry once in a while, but don’t comment.

  2. Pingback: Soil and Stubble Fighting Climate Change | The Lukewarmer's Way

Leave a Reply

