Climate Change and Public Figures

If I were a lawyer who had spent most of my earlier years as a community organizer before achieving high office, I doubt I would know too much about climate change. I doubt if as president I would have a whole lot of time to study it.

I would rely upon the scientists. Like the Director of NASA’s GISS, James Hansen. Like my science advisor, John Holdren. Like the NOAA. And the EPA. And if they all told me the same thing, I would act on their advice. And if their opinion was supported by the IPCC, well that would help convince me I was doing the right thing.

If I were a Latin American priest focused on improving the lives of the poor and helping the region recover some of the ground it has lost to civil unrest before achieving high office, I doubt if I would know too much about climate change. I doubt if as Holy Pontiff I would have a whole lot of time to study it.

I would rely upon the scientists. If they all told me the same thing, I would act on their advice.

If the skeptics that came into my field of vision were folk like Marc Morano and Viscount Monckton, that would actually reinforce my confidence in the scientists who gave me advice. Their history and hunger for publicity are painfully easy to see and they would not inspire confidence. If I never saw or read people like Richard Lindzen or Freeman Dyson, who would bring them to my attention?

Given that Steve McIntyre shocked a roomful of skeptics by saying he would rely on the IPCC version of the science, can we blame Barack Obama and Pope Francis for doing the same?

As a Lukewarmer I have a lot of natural sympathy for skeptics, in part because I get the same insults as they do, in part because the Konsensus is really creating an Orwellian framework that I believe will damage science for decades.

But really, skeptics. If you want to present an argument to public figures with busy agendas and no background in climate science, you need to up your game.

step-your-game-up

4 responses to “Climate Change and Public Figures

  1. Jennifer Marohasy made a similar point last summer, that skeptics need to find a new paradigm to replace the catastrophic consensus that is squandering so much money and time.
    And it is a good point.
    However, since each and every climate inspired prediction, treaty, law, tax, regulation and subsidy has failed to do anything other than enrich catastrophists, I think skeptics are well served to keep pointing out that the Climate Emperor has no clothes.
    Alternative dress, to abuse the metaphor, is not really required until the Emperor admits he has been had.
    An interesting alternative conclusion to the “Emperor’s New Clothes”, by the way, is that the kid was hauled off to jail while the Emperor kept strutting around nekkid and the con-artists made their get away.

  2. John Greenfraud

    Science is not a popularity contest. Truth is not achieved by a like-minded show of hands. The empirical evidence will eventually reveal the truth (not speculative failed modeling). Quite frankly, at this point in time the alarmists look like a whacked-out cult or a political monkey F’ing a football. Accepting the IPCC’s scientific findings does not mean blind faith in the non sequitur conclusions or rote speculation that accompanies those findings. The IPCC is a political organization, period. I agree, people in general do a poor job of separating sophistry from science, however, you certainly don’t need to be a scientist to recognize who is being rational and truthful and who is being deceptive and vague. Don’t kill the messengers.

  3. Tom, Stay on this topic awhile. Most “skeptic”sites are making no effort to change anyones mind. They are simply falsely characterizing the opposition and then demonizing them. They don’t want to resolve the issue. They are carefully cultivating another wedge issue.

  4. Okay. Next post continues the theme. Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

