Obama publicly humiliates Kevin Trenberth

Kevin Trenberth, valiantly reprising the role of Robert Stadler in Atlas Shrugged (I read it so you don’t have to–the politics in that books are as functional as first generation climate models and the characters make Marvel Comics look like Dostoevsky. Atlas Shrugged remains relevant to the debate on climate change not because skeptics think of themselves as heroes in an Ayn Rand novel, but because the Klimate Konsensus continuously acts like Ayn Rand villains.)–oh–where was I? Kevin Trenberth, valiantly reprising the role of Robert Stadler in Atlas Shrugged, is one of 20 signatories to an open letter to Barack Obama asking him to use RICO legislation (the Racketter Influence and Corrupt Organizations Act) to go after climate skeptics. I don’t know why they neglected to include Lukewarmers in their attempted whitewashing of the debate.

Fortunately, President Obama gave his response publicly two weeks later, saying “”I’ve heard some college campuses where they don’t want to have a guest speaker who is too conservative or they don’t want to read a book if it has language that is offensive to African-Americans or somehow sends a demeaning signal towards women,” Obama said. “I gotta tell you I don’t agree with that either. I don’t agree that you, when you become students at colleges, have to be coddled and protected from different points of view.”

“Sometimes I realized maybe I’ve been too narrow-minded, maybe I didn’t take this into account, maybe I should see this person’s perspective,” Obama said.

Kevin Trenberth, shame on you. You call yourself a scientist? You signed a letter saying “One additional tool – recently proposed by Senator Sheldon Whitehouse – is a RICO (Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act) investigation of corporations and other organizations that have knowingly deceived the American people about the risks of climate change, as a means to forestall America’s response to climate change. The actions of these organizations have been extensively documented in peerreviewed academic research (Brulle, 2013) and in recent books including: Doubt is their Product (Michaels, 2008), Climate Cover-Up (Hoggan & Littlemore, 2009), Merchants of Doubt (Oreskes & Conway, 2010), The Climate War (Pooley, 2010), and in The Climate Deception Dossiers (Union of Concerned Scientists, 2015). We strongly endorse Senator Whitehouse’s call for a RICO investigation.”

For shame.

salemwitchtrialhangings0

Hey–buy my book!

13 responses to “Obama publicly humiliates Kevin Trenberth

  1. They are your guys, Tom. Everyone of the goons pushing climate censorship- heck practicing it openly and loudly- are self-declared progressives. As for Mr. Obama’s late and small comment against pc codes, he is the one who derisively refuses to even discuss climate issues, insulting skeptics by comparing them to flat-earthers.

  2. Tom, we are living in a new age, as pointed out in your debate post. I think this letter has far darker implications. I wrote this at WUWT:
    “This is just a sciencey version of how religious zealots or political extremists behave regarding defending their distorted faith and ideology from dangerous heretics and dissenters….until the zealots and extremists can work up the social support to start implementing a final solution, purge, pogrom, etc.
    Trenberth’s descent into this sort of pathetic cowardly madness is particularly interesting. He got away with turning the scientific method on its head, demanding proof that his apocalyptic claptrap was untrue. Now, still with no apocalypse taking place, he is ready to simply jail those pesky people who keep pointing out he is wrong.
    Sadly, the person this letter is addressed to has demonstrated no critical thinking ability and I will not be surprised to see this idea actually implemented.
    Prepare for a revisit to the McCarthy witch hunt days several orders of magnitude worse. McCarthy never had the full backing of the Dept. of Justice. The climate clowns have this President’s full backing.”

    Sorry about the slow response on your excellent book by the way. My schedule has been terrible.

  3. Until true scientists call out these charlatans, it will be more of the same. We also need principled satirists to lay bare this Lysenko AGW pseudo-science built on models and myths.

    • ‘We need satirists’ … Well, at least we’ve got Mark Steyn in that category -” Disgrace to the Profession” is the antidote for this kind of nonsense, but his trial also proves how the legal system can be twisted to serve those who would deny free speech.

  4. This is my first time to this site, followed a link from Tom. I like it. I am a relative newcomer to this climate “war”. I had a long career as an electrical engineer, 3 yrs ago I was happily plying my trade blissfully unaware of the corruption in climate science. One day I ran across the APS statement on climate change, and the word “incontrovertible”. Immediately I smelled rat and proceeded to dig into the literature. Fast forward to now, I am VERY concerned about where all of this is heading. It is a cult of the worst kind, extreme and radical. And it has the complete support of the POTUS no less! Along with billions in federal grants. What REALLY scares me is the way that most mainstream media refuse to question it. A few years ago I would never have believed this could happen in the USA. I definitely see it as a threat to freedom. I spend time at Watt’s and Curry’s blogs and sometimes Jo Nova. I went to Real Climate a while back and tried to have some open and honest discussions, before long I left never to post there again, as I couldn’t get any straight answers, only snark. Where am I going with all of this? I see a lot of angry and upset posts on blogs, but few people actually doing anything other than joke and complain about it. I’m looking for people concerned enough about this to take real action. Someone should setup video interviews with some of these top “scientists” under the guise of supporting their work and wanting to help get the message out. Ask them some pointed questions such as what are the top three peer reviewed papers that lead them to the conclusion that CAGW is proven science. Pin them down on details, have them bring up the papers on their computer and show first hand, captured on video, why they believe it is proven science, or why they think the null hypothesis should be changed to assuming CAGW is true until proven not. By the end of the interview they may figure out that you are not actually supportive of them but you’ve got the video so no matter, move on. That’s one example of action that can be taken. I desire to take action and I am looking for others who want to. I am amazed that the Kochs with their massive resources have not yet exposed this scam for what it is. If I had their wealth I would have all kinds of covert ops going on to expose this crap (nothing illegal, there’s plenty that can be done legally). If there is anyone out there that feels as I do, I would like to meet you.

    • steve,
      You are not alone.
      You miss the point: The cliamte obsessed do not get held accountable.
      Not *one* prediction of doom has come true- it makes no difference.
      Skeptics are proven correct time after time- it does not matter.
      When climate fanatics lie, cheat and fabricate evidence- those caught get promoted. Those not caught defend them.
      Climate skeptics are marginalized, ignored, pilloried, fired- our formerly free media ignores it or reports on the suppression in approving tones.
      This social sickness is likely to get worse then eugenics.

  5. hunter,
    Nice summary. When I read things like “This social sickness is likely to get worse…” as if there is nothing that can be done about it, I am puzzled and saddened. I appreciate the skeptics who are hosting blogs and writing books on it, but really it needs to be stepped up a few notches to pop this festering social zit. I am well aware that the climate obsessed don’t get held accountable. My point is, let’s get to work making them accountable. It can be done if people are willing to put forth the effort. They have millions of activists bent on reducing CO2 no matter what it takes. Skeptics need their own millions of activists bent on nothing other than the destruction of this new cult, willing to donate time and money to make it happen. I’m ready to volunteer. I just need to find another 999,999 to join me. Not much luck so far😦 Perhaps I will have to focus my energy to help Trump get elected. I can hardly believe I’m ready to vote for the guy, but desperate times call for desperate measures and he is a means to and end. Seeing him say “Gina, you’re a fat pig and I can’t see your face as head of the EPA. You’re fired!” would be one of the best moments of my life.

    • Funny you mention they have millions of activists but, I wonder if they do?
      I’ve never seen more than a few thousand at their largest rallies and always only a few people are involved in the more showier displays of terrorism like attacking Russian oil rigs.
      Why haven’t they marched with their millions on DC and demanded action?
      I believe nearly 100k Americans joined Glenn Beck in Washington back in 2010.

  6. Thank you, Thomas, for calling Kevin Trenbreth out.

  7. As the curtain is pulled on the modern Wizard of Oz, “Stalin’s Scientists are desperately trying to frighten the public away with CERN’s pseudo-physics:

    http://wchildblog.com/2015/09/20/nostradamus-warnedcern-will-be-the-destroyer/

    This fantasy physics began after Stalin won WWII during a news blackout of events that changed the course of world history at Konan, Korea in Aug-Sept 1945 and then united nations on 24 Oct 1945:

    https://brittius.wordpress.com/2015/08/16/dr-o-manuel-ph-d-stalins-science/

Leave a Reply

