Climate Migration–to Puget Sound?

When I first saw the headline I thought, well this can’t be evidence that climate change is bad: “Will climate change cause population surge?” Sadly, though, it’s about people in the Pacific Northwest worried that even more Californians will invade their space.

They’re already worried that California weather is migrating north–some studies predict Seattle will start to have the weather of San Jose (hope the water doesn’t come with it… re: Tom Lehrer). But to also have the actual people? The horror.

It might be a little unfair to ask the author of the article and the study it references if they’re actually native to the region. I mention it because California has a long tradition of recent arrivals hoping they’re the last to come and agitating to close and lock the door the minute they get in.

fyiguy-popgrowth-map-2

Quite possibly climate change won’t have much at all to do with future growth in the region.

It’s the coffee. Gotta be.

2 responses to “Climate Migration–to Puget Sound?

  1. Off topic: Tom, I have too much I want to do, and the time remaining seems to have shrunk. I can’t do everything I wanted so I am going to concentrate on what I can do most uniquely.
    It;s been great. Keep up the good work.
    Marty

Leave a Reply

