A Merry Climate Christmas

Hello to all, especially those regular commenters who have stuck with me through thick and thin this past year. You know who you are.

I suppose I should say Happy Holidays, but here in Taiwan they don’t really pay much attention to the day, so I’ll go all out and say Merry Christmas!

Just one more week and this year will be over. I’ll be glad to see the back of 2015, and not just for climate reasons. But we’ll focus on them.

We’ve seen much ado about nothing in Paris with promises to promise but none to keep, a bleak House in the U.S. with Markey as a demagogue trying to make Curry weep, hard times due to bad weather in the UK, so we’ll complete the Dickensian title fest with A Christmas Carol.

It’s been a good year for climate, but a bad year for the climate conversation. The Alarmists continue to reach for the most disastrous metaphors, while the skeptics keep turning a blind eye to the thermometers. This year won’t be remembered for storm, flood, drought or heatwave and that’s always a blessing.

It will probably be remembered as the year Donald Trump blustered his way to national attention and international consternation.

But Merry Christmas to all the ten million who didn’t become climate refugees, and happy holidays to those (mostly Muslim) who were forced to leave their homes for other reasons. As I understand it, this day is named for a Middle Eastern refugee–wish he’d been the last.

st-mark-s-church-sign-refugees-christmas

Merry Christmas to those in the Philippines who had to flee the storms, and happy holidays to those the world over who were not so obliged.

Merry Christmas to the Californians who may have seen the end of drought and happy holidays to those in East Africa who are not so fortunate.

That’s enough out of me. Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, we’ll do it all over again tomorrow.

14 responses to “A Merry Climate Christmas

  1. Merry Christmas, Tom. Can one get a Christmas tree in Taiwan? Even a small potted pine? 🙂

  2. Whoa! Stop the Internet!

    The Alarmists continue to reach for the most disastrous metaphors,

    I’ll assume this clause wasn’t meant to be an indictment, seeing as how it’s, you know, functionally laudatory.

    And here I was, thinking they’d spent yet another 365.25 days lying their asses off, and all the while their only crime worth mentioning was… optimal language use? (Heck, I’d hardly expect rational agents who want to raise the alarm about something to reach for the *least* disastrous metaphor.)

    while the skeptics keep turning a blind eye to the thermometers.

    Ah, so we climate refusards *are* more or less exactly the kind of denialist, avoidant rejectionists we’ve always been accused of being?

    I must say, Tom, this new intel changes everything. I can’t thank you enough! Let me tell ya, I know how *I’m* gonna be spending Christmas ’15: taking a searching and ruthless moral inventory, bordering on the high colonic.

    What a fool I’ve been. What a foolish, handsome fool.

    • I thought you were going to break into song there, Brad… ‘What a fool I was, what an addlepated fool, to think you were the earth and sky…’

      Don’t worry. I like you guys (and gals) better than the other side…

  3. And a Merry Peregrin Brandybuck Falcon Took to you, Thomas!

    PS I strongly approve of certain overdue amendments to your blogroll! In the spirit of Festivus I’m even going to forgive the lack of bold and flashing tags, a slight which on any other day I’d denounce as the crypto-believalist damnation-by-faint-praise tactic it so transparently is, font-miser!😀

  4. Thanks for your efforts.

    My visits may not always be apparent, because yours posts often get read within my RSS feeder.

    Merry Xmas & a prosperous New Year.

  5. Merry Christmas to You!

    I would like to take this time to say that over the last ten years I have found you my most influential climate commentator in the blogosphere. Your reason based commentary has been a welcome relief from the many other partisan, ideological voices.

    Thank you for the many times that I have seen you inject a note of reason into an otherwise unenlightening discussion between entrenched ideologues.

  6. Tom, Merry Christmas wishes to you and yours. Thanks for the hard work, time and patience you devote to this blog and your writing in general. Thanks for your civility in permitting a dialogue to take place, even with those who disagree with you.

  7. Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

