Putting the Climate Debate In Its Proper Perspective

I’ve been writing and reading about climate change for close to a decade now. I look at climate blogs every day. I comment on blogs (where I’m allowed to–the Klimate Kultists tend to ban folks like me, sometimes even before I ever say a thing. Yes, that’s you, ATTP.)

It’s not just me, of course. Thousands of interested citizens, politicians, other journalists, lobbyists, NGOs and corporate types follow the climate debate almost obsessively. We know the lingo, the nuance. We know our Dunning Kruger from our Overton Window. We have our touchstones–when someone insults one of them, whether it’s Michael Mann or Steve McIntyre, we are quick on the draw with a quiver full of comebacks.

So it’s nice to remember once in a while that while there may be thousands of us participating in the debate, we are the fringe. No matter which side we take, we are weird by definition just for being so over-involved.

A website called Fusion just put it all into perspective, showing Google search results for both climate change and… the NFL. Here’s what they found:

Interest over time

 Sep 29, 2015Oct 6, 2015Oct 13, 2015Oct 20, 2015
Date climate change nfl
Thursday, September 24, 2015 1 25
Friday, September 25, 2015 1 27
Saturday, September 26, 2015 0 18
Sunday, September 27, 2015 0 100
Monday, September 28, 2015 0 46
Tuesday, September 29, 2015 0 33
Wednesday, September 30, 2015 0 19
Thursday, October 1, 2015 0 24
Friday, October 2, 2015 0 28
Saturday, October 3, 2015 0 18
Sunday, October 4, 2015 0 97
Monday, October 5, 2015 0 49
Tuesday, October 6, 2015 0 32
Wednesday, October 7, 2015 0 19
Thursday, October 8, 2015 0 23
Friday, October 9, 2015 0 24
Saturday, October 10, 2015 0 17
Sunday, October 11, 2015 0 89
Monday, October 12, 2015 0 45
Tuesday, October 13, 2015 0 31
Wednesday, October 14, 2015 1 17
Thursday, October 15, 2015 1 22
Friday, October 16, 2015 0 24
Saturday, October 17, 2015 0 16
Sunday, October 18, 2015 0 83
Monday, October 19, 2015 0 44
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
The polls that show climate change as bottom of the priority list for Americans were not exaggerating. Americans are not interested in climate change. You can argue that they should be (and I’ll agree). You can argue that it doesn’t mean they don’t ‘believe’ in human caused climate change. And I’ll agree again. But… they… don’t… care.
What scares me is that every day I go to Google and search for news about climate change, looking for inspiration for my next post. Those clicks could all be me! Or could be, if I were searching from America instead of Taiwan.
If the Niners weren’t doing so poorly this year I might consider a change of focus for this blog. Come to think of it, they are having land use / land cover issues…
49er turf

20 responses to “Putting the Climate Debate In Its Proper Perspective

  1. I think the words “climate change” aren’t searched for because the general public is educated, they know the world is warming a lot and we are all going to die soon as giant hurricanes and floods sweep us to live in drought stricken areas where starving polar bears and Syrian refugees roam. So why bother to look up such a depressing subject?

  2. Trust me, NFL has no interest outside the USA. The rest of the world plays football with a spherical ball.

  3. .Americans are not interested in climate change…You can argue that they should be (and I’ll agree)….

    Er… Climate Change (nee Global Warming) made a number of predictions that the world would start becoming dangerously hot, and that the weather would go ‘weird’. None of these things have happened. So why should anyone – Americans or anyone else, be interested in a failed theory any more?

  4. > ban folks like me, sometimes even before I ever say a thing. Yes, that’s you, ATTP

    It seems odd to me that you’ve allowed this to stand, uncorrected, in your post, even though ATTP has provided links proving its falseness, and you’ve accepted its falsity.

  5. To take an obviously entirely hypothetical example – were anyone to wonder if what you say can be relied upon, they might look upon this as a counter example.

  6. I adjusted the comment in the comments where the conversation took place. Given that he continues to post a link to a comment that I told him I didn’t make months ago, I’m not inclined to do much else.

  7. What I see on that thread Ken Rice is the usual word games you like to play. You told Tom to go away and he agreed to do so. What he said seemed to be making sense. You just didn’t like the IPCC conclusions Tom was discussing.

    However, you can be far nastier than that. Far more pernicious is your practice of deleting relevant comments to skew the record to an outcome you like.

  8. > I still think you manufactured that comment.

    But you defended yourself to me via email on the grounds that the IP address of that comment geolocates to not-your-location. However, it even more strongly geolocates to not-ATTPs-location. So you are now obliged to accept that ATTP didn’t write it, if you follow your own logic.

    • I’m struggling to understand why I should be accepting dicta when neither you nor ATTP have shown any sign of doing so.

      You’ve got a comment on your website with my name attached to it that I didn’t write and you say I need to accept that ATTP didn’t write it.

      ATTP has been throwing a link to that comment in my face and God knows where else.

      And I have to accept something? Tell you what–you deep six the comment and ATTP accepts I didn’t write it. Then I’ll accept that ATTP didn’t.

  9. William Connolley instructing anyone on anything to do with manners or veracity is incredibly funny.

Leave a comment